Gregor Mendel monument

This marble monument to the father of genetics, Gregor Mendel was inaugurated in 1910 in Brno, in the presence of many famous scientists, among them Erich von Tschermak, one of the three re-descoverers (in 1900) of mendelian laws of heredity, and William Bateson, the first to use the word genetics.

The statue was originally placed in the Klosterplatz (then Mendelplatz and now Mendlovo náměstí), in front of the Augustianian Abbey of St.Thomas, but in 1950 the communist authorities moved the statue to a corner of the posterior courtyard of the monastery.

In 1964, after the fall of Nikita Khrushchev, a group of scientists persuaded the czechoslovakian government to move again the statue to a more suitable place in the main courtyard: this is the actual location from where Abbot Mendel can look towards the garden in which he accomplished his momentuous experiments1.


Go to the original image and discover the Author of this photo

  • Locate the item on this [ Google Map]

Unless otherwise stated, the content of this page is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License