The old "Manicomio Provinciale Santa Maria della Pietà" has been the main psychiatric hospital in Rome (Piazza S. Maria della Pietà, 5) until its closure in 19991. The first stone of the buildings was placed - in the presence of the King Vittorio Emanuele III - on the 28th of June 1909 and the construction was finished after less than two years, on the 31th of May 1911. The new "Manicomio Provinciale" took the name of Santa Maria della Pietà only in 1926, when the ancient psychiatric hospital in the Lungara street was finally closed. The "Manicomio Provinciale" was immersed in a park and consisted of 43 buildings, 29 of them dedicated to the wards2. Nowadays, some pavilions have been restored and dedicated to various health-care services, while many others still remain abandoned. Pavilion 6 hosts the Museo Laboratorio della Mente, a museum devoted to the history of psychiatry3. The first Director of the hospital, from 1913 to 1938, was Augusto Giannelli: under him the structure, originally designed to host 1000 mentally ill, reached the figure of 26024.
- Photos by Luca Borghi ti.supmacinu|ihgrob.l#| (March 2010)
- Locate the item on this Google Map
- Antonio Maria Valsalva's bas-relief medallion
- Augusto Giannelli's bust
- Vincenzo Chiarugi's bas-relief medallion